“Playwright” vs. “Playwrite”

Hell ya, I’m a playwright…

Thoroughly enjoyed the piece…

I wanted to post a blog tonight… Wrote a lot of things, but could think of nothing as interesting a read as this piece… I am sure, my readers and fellow bloggers will like the piece as well…

It's Kind of a Long Story

(This is a revised version of a post that was first published in October 2009.  I went back and changed some stuff so it sounded better.)

*  *  *  *  *

Playwright.“play”, from the Saxon “plega“, meaning “recreation”; and “wright,” from the Old English “wryhta“, meaning “worker.”  First recorded use of word: 1687.

I am a compulsive word-use-corrector, a ruthless proofreader, a highly-critical grammar snob.  Anyone who has ever made the mistake of asking me to edit a paper for them can verify that this is true.  I love my red proofreading pen with an unhealthy passion.  While it’s partly because I’m a judgmental pain in the ass, it’s also because I’m a giant etymology geek.  I love words (certainly I use a lot of them) and I find them really interesting.  Which is why the word “playwright” fascinates me.  It drives me bonkers when…

View original post 1,412 more words

What do you think?

