To all of you who made “The Cemetery” possible!

photo 2The first screening or rather a core team screening of the short film, “The Cemetery” was happily concluded at the residence of the veteran actor and my recent HERO, Mr. Barun Chanda today. A group of sublimely talented friends of mine who stood by my capricious dream in rain and thunder was there to watch the almost final version of the film. I would like to thank all those people who helped me in completing my maiden project, an experience that I will cherish for my entire life.

So, many of our dreams at first seem impossible, then they seem improbable, and then, when we summon the will, they soon become inevitable. Probably this short film had a similar run of events! But it would have been really impossible to complete this project unless I was blessed with these people around me. This small post is dedicated to all of you who made, “The Cemetery” inevitable!

 

IMG_0213Barun Chanda: This charismatic, forever young man needs no introduction I guess. From Ray’s Seemabaddha, to the recent successful saga of the Lootera, he was and still is one of the most compelling actors of serious Indian cinema! In this short film project “The Cemetery”, he not only acted in one of the pivotal roles but also became the guardian of the film! It might have been my dream but he protected the dream with all his experience and wisdom as an actor, advisor, and narrator and most importantly as my friend! I owe you this film Sir!

DSC_0117Tanusree Chakraborty: “The Cemetery” is a film typically based on a character called Carole, a Christian widow who seeks emancipation from her past life. I never thought she would readily agree to play Carole; she proved me wrong. She helped me with her precious time (probably the most valuable thing for her) and patience with a relatively young and inexperienced film maker like me! There were instances of difference in opinion and lack of facilities that disturbed the spirit. I take the responsibility and can vouch for a better setup next time. However, she enriched the film with a really professional performance and I hope the end result will certainly give her a reason to smile!

ApratimDAApratim Ghoshal: For some unknown reason we ended up doing a project together, I never thought we will. It would have been completely impossible for me to find the means to go ahead and complete this project until Mr. Ghoshal came to the rescue. He backed me up with the all important fund considering my urge to do something new or probably some unseen enterprise. I would like to thank him from the bottom of my heart for all his support and encouragement. Let’s hope we can work together on bigger and better projects in the near future.

AnirbanDAAnirban Maity: Editing was another tough hurdle that kept me anxious throughout my shooting days. Insufficient funds and stringent shooting conditions prevented me to get enough for my editor to chew upon! The story was twisted and turned a number of times while the shooting progressed and honestly, I was pretty confused with the time line and the final product! Anirban Da, amid all his anxious Argentine adrenaline managed to exploit his poetic mind and nimble fingers to bless “The Cemetery”. He did something that cannot be acknowledged with mere words!

IMG_0033Abhrajit Sen: My D.O.P. and my associate director. You truly served the role of an uncle to the baby, I am a father to; and by virtue of which you also become my brother! Bro, you rocked throughout the film. With those heated argument sessions and with all the hectic schedules you are the one along with Siladitya who kept the frames tight and close to my heart. I would love to work with you again. We can probably work upon the huge room for improvement that is still left to fill in. Let’s explore!

DSC_0164 Ronee Roy: I was awestruck with his guitar playing when I first jammed with him way back in 2012. He still manages to amaze and excite me with his mesmerizing fingers on that instrument. Probably, guitar is an instrument for all and at the same time not for all. He justifies it with the background scores of “The Cemetery”. I am really lucky to have you as my colleague and happier to have you as my friend. Hope we can work together in future keeping your music and interest as the priority, Ronee da. I hope you know what I mean!

IMG_1125In the journey there were a number of other friends, colleagues, well wishers and completely unknown people who supplemented the experience. The vote of thanks would be incomplete without mentioning the toiling efforts of Siladitya Dam, the assistant cinematographer, Aditya Shankar Roy, one who documented the project with some brilliant stills, Ankita Majumdar, my student and my assistant, Ayan Nath (synthesizer player), Sonali Khan (Graphics and Design), Chitralekha Bannerjee, Arunavo Gupta, Tittu Philip, Nitin Panchamia, Kajal Mondal and may be some of you whom I am forgetting right now.

F47B8732

A special vote of thanks should go to Mr. Rana Basu Thakur of JLT who took a respite from his immensely busy schedule to come over and complement a day with his camera and lenses. Without you, the project wouldn’t have taken the shape it has today!

IMG_0237

IMG_0256Last but not the least; I would like to thank the Creative Director of “The Cemetery”and my companion, Shreya Goswami, who stood by me through thick and thin. Thanks for being there!

 

To fulfill a dream amidst financial crunch and hurdles that evolved on an hourly basis, what acted as my immunity was my belief in the dream that an independent film is still possible with limited resources. I know The Cemetery was not as perfect as I thought it would be, but I will still cherish the journey throughout my life.

THANK YOU EVERYONE!

 

2 Replies to “To all of you who made “The Cemetery” possible!”

What do you think?

