Straight from my heart – Muddy E minor- (part-I)

Music has always been a mystical source of enlightenment and entertainment for a mind and soul that longs for realization. I feel music describes happiness of a heart and the sadness of a soul like no other form of art. It has the language that metaphorically connects to the soul of an individual and soothes the scars indented by this materialistic world.

Indian music has a number of layers that can hardly be argued on a mere blog page. The enormous and enriching resource of Indian music leaves me amazed every time I try to estimate its profundity. I am inclined to popular form of music. I prefer a form of music that promulgates hope for one and all, kind of music that speaks about life and its journey towards the ultimate truth. Indian folk music is one of those kinds.  My knowledge about the entire folk music culture of the country is limited and I humbly acknowledge that I know very little about their substantial growth and contribution to the Indian music. I would rather speak about the ‘Bauls’ of Bengal to assert a few philosophies about folk music of this region.

Baul Singer

The word ‘Baul’ came from a Sanskrit word ‘Vatula’ which means insanity or madness of the wind. These Bauls lives their life of renunciation from all the worldly desires and preach the message of love and God as they move around the world. They put heart and soul to their songs which have simple lyrics for one and all. Their music is very similar to sufi music as exemplified by Kabir.  They sing what they feel and their words along with their especially designed musical instruments and organs come together to provoke a tune as soulful as the first rain after the summers.

I shall key my thoughts and emotions about these musical magicians in mymotionpicture in three episodes. I would like to describe a few encounters with some of these Baul singers on the crossroads of my life. If you had a taste of their music, you know what I am talking about. If you haven’t, I must say that you are deprived of something so heavenly that their songs can explain.  I wish to present some of the immortal Baul songs created in this part of the world in the form of their popular versions recorded on electromagnetic medium in this section of my blog. I am doing a research on the evolution of Baul music in Bengal and its present position.

I expect to return in the second episode of “Straight from my heart – Muddy E minor” with some more facts and souls about these mysterious section of musicians who spend their entire life serving the art and perishing unnoticed on most of the occasions. I invite my readers to one of the famous Baul festivals that take place in Joydev Kenduli and experience the vibrant music and the captivating ambience.

'Ektara', 'Do-tara' and other string instruments including some flutes...

Till the time we unite again on this virtual world, I sign off leaving you with a documentary made by UNESCO on Bauls as a part of their Intangible Cultural Heritage of Humanity Project in the year 2008.

 

5 Replies to “Straight from my heart – Muddy E minor- (part-I)”

    1. @Shreya Thank you so much.. 🙂 Your comments will always have a different value and I expect constructive criticism from you.. I hope I can reach people and draw a substantial readership on this blog with your support!

      Like

  1. Reblogged this on mymotionpicture and commented:

    A recent film by Gladly Mukhopadhay was screened at Gorky Sadan Kolkata. The film was named as “The eternal journey”, was a dedication to one of the premier Bauls of Bengal, Subol Das Baul. His contribution towards folk music and his preachings as depicted in the film are mesmerizing.
    Respect and High regards from the desk of my-motion-picture!!!

    Like

  2. While I have always loved Baul music sometimes listening to them on a local train to Barrackpore or sometimes in Shantiniketan I didn’t know a lot of facts about them that you have so nicely written in your post. I will never forget the beautiful song Lal Paharir Deshe ja sung by a baul in Shantineketan while we were taking a walk in the Khowai during sunset. These experiences are somewhat Wordworthian, “the flash before the inward eye…” It was absolutely mesmerising.

    Like

What do you think?

